Decolonizing Aid

Planetary Solidarity beyond Aid


November 27, 2022 to March 19, 2023

Veranstaltungsreihe/Event series/Seri
Online via zoom

Sonntags/Sundays/Minggu
12:30h Berlin time/19.30h Sulawesi time

Sprachen/Languages/Bahasa
Deutsch/English/Indonesi

The crises we are already familiar with - the climate crisis, the intensification of the racialized and gendered capitalist system, the health crisis, to name a few - are coming to a head and becoming increasingly intertwined. This creates new dynamics of power and violence, coupled with a growing sense of hopelessness. The (re)construction of the world, thinking and doing it differently, becomes a necessity. In this, aid remains an essential part of the way the world is thought and made. But aid is also bound up in its colonial legacy, in racist structures, and in a market orientation and neoliberal agenda that (re)produces inequalities and marginalizations.

These critical perspectives on development and aid from post-colonial and post-development perspectives have long been formulated by feminist, anti-capitalist and anti-racist voices. They point to how the aid system itself perpetuates forms of economic and financial dependence through institutions, conditionality, or tied aid. On the non-material level, the "global South" is constructed as a place of crises and vulnerability, whose people are defined by crisis - rather than as subjects of their selves and their contexts.

Critical actors around the world are making the case that we need a "decolonial turn" in development studies and practice to unravel the roots of the power relations that produce and stabilize the racist, gendered, sexualized, and class hierarchies that characterize the modern world. Decolonization goes beyond critique and paves the way for the realization of alternative visions and practices of world-making.
And in the spirit of Audre Lorde's dictum, "The master's tool will never dismantle the master's house," the question is how to abolish the master's house. Do we have to? And if it were (to be) abolished, would we also have to abolish aid?
Based on these strong critical interventions in development debates, the overarching theme of this series of events is the decolonization of aid and development. As we look toward a future of a good life for everyone and everything on the horizon of these crises, where is aid to be located? Can aid be part of the shift toward planetary solidarity, or does it stand in its way?

Decolonizing Aid is a series of dialogues. We would be happy if you join us and our guests in the (digital) fishbowl in English, Indonesian or German! The events will be published later on the medico Youtube channel.

Organized by medico international, Institut Mosintuwu, Department Global South of the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Program

20.11.2022 Attention, postponed to 27.11.2022
DEVELOPMENT AND AID IN THE MASTER‘S HOUSE: UNRAVELLING THE ARCHITECTURE AND THE IMAGINARIES OF THE MASTER‘S HOUSE

The crisis of capitalism cannot be separated from the crisis of development and aid. A capitalism that has long since left the spheres of labor and has inscribed itself in our bodies in its neoliberal form. As the medico conference "beyond aid" (2014) convincingly argued: Aid must be grounded in a concept of power, space and political economy, otherwise it can at best cushion the suffering of a given situation, as efficiently as possible with diminishing resources. We want to question and deconstruct this substitute action, which is aid, for what is actually necessary - namely the transformation towards a good life for everyone and everything.

Against the backdrop of aid's entanglement with capitalist and neoliberal models of development, we want to ask how aid functions within the architecture of the "manor" and how this architecture shapes the practices of aid, its actors and institutions. Can we think aid beyond its effects on stabilizing existing structures and mechanisms of power and exploitation? How can we rethink aid to realize social justice, solidarity, and restitution?

Sima Luipert works in regional and rural development management in Namibia. She is a human rights and social change activist with a background in rural planning and regulation, project management, and community development. She is the Director of Development Planning at the Namibian Regional Council of Hardap. She is also Deputy Director of the Nama Genocide Technical Committee (NTLA) and Chair of the Board of Directors Riruako Centre for Genocide and Memory Studies.

 

11.12.2022
THE MASTER‘S GARDEN: GREEN CAPITALISM AND ITS INTERSECTIONS WITH GREEN (NEO)COLONIALISM

A fundamental mechanism of capitalist production is the extraction of material from nature to transform it (through labor) into tradable commodities. The promise of "green capitalism" is to reconcile development, growth, and environmental protection. Political and economic strategies such as carbon trading and offsets, net zero, and sustainable consumption allow states and corporations to continue the destruction and exploitation of the commons. But now under the green guise of supposed social responsibility and environmental protection. Yet the destruction of the livelihoods of local and indigenous communities in the Global South is inextricably linked to socio-ecological change in the Global North.

We want to ask how this connection between destruction and socio-ecological restructuring works? How does green capitalism intersect with development discourses and practices? How must aid and development be transformed to be part of a global and just socio-ecological transformation as well as resistance and transnational solidarity against green capitalism?

Nnimmo Bassey is a Nigerian architect, environmentalist, activist, author, and poet. He is director of the environmental think tank Health of Mother Earth Foundation (HOMEF) in Nigeria and a member of the Steering Committee of Oilwatch International. He was chairman of Friends of the Earth International (2008-2012) and executive director of Nigeria's Environmental Rights Action (1993-2013). In 2010, he was awarded the Right Livelihood Award. Nnimmo Bassey has written and spoken extensively about environmental degradation and green capitalism on the African continent.

 

29.01.2023
THE MASTER‘S GOODWILL: NEW STRANDS OF HUMANITARIAN AID - STILL NOT ENOUGH

The ambivalences in humanitarian aid are of particular difficulty: on the one hand, it follows the acute moral imperative to alleviate suffering; on the other, it is a continuation of colonial practices that are in large part responsible for creating crises and embedded in the world order that keeps these disasters alive. In doing so, they depoliticize the contexts of suffering and the struggles on the ground. It also raises the question of what it means to help "firefight" in a world that is constantly burning. Despite all the reforms in humanitarian aid, forexample through the 2016 Humanitarian Summit, the questions remain.
If we look at humanitarian aid from a justice- and human rights-based approach rooted in an anti-capitalist and decolonial understanding of the future, several questions arise: How can humanitarian aid be challenged and changed to meet this future? How can we imagine humanitarian aid in transition? Which aspects do we need to protect, which to abolish? Given the not-so-unlikely future of a burning planet: Will humanitarian aid become obsolete as a response to disasters? Can humanitarian aid become part of the transformation?  

Tammam Aloudat is one of the leading voices in the field of decolonizing global health especially in the realm of humanitarian aid. As a physician and humanitarian worker with 20 years of experience working with the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) working in conflicts, natural disasters, forced displacement, and disease outbreaks both in projects and in the headquarters. He has worked on issues ranging from medical standards and quality of care, humanitarian ethics, palliative care, to access to medicines. The president  of the Board of MSF Netherlands and former managing director of the global health center of the geneva graduate institute also co-founded the Action to Decolonise Global Health (ActDGH).

 

26.02.2023
SMASHING WINDOWS? RETHINKING AID BEYOND THE NORTH-SOUTH AXIS

The North-South axis is characterized by unequal power and knowledge relations and hegemony based on a history of extractive colonial capitalism that continues to reverberate today. However, North-South relations as socio-spatial relations are neither as geographically fixed nor as immutable as the term suggests. We are witnessing new "rising powers" gaining economic power, forms of transregionalization, and regional shifts in hegemony through wars and conflicts, for example, as Turkey, Russia, Saudi Arabia, and Iran gain new hegemonic positions through their entanglements in the long-running conflicts in Syria, Libya, and Yemen.

At the latest, the Russian invasion of Ukraine has underlined the need to strengthen decolonial ways of thinking that make it possible to understand the different practices, discourses, politics and forms of violence. These processes and dynamics entail not only new configurations of economic power, capitalism, and militarization, but also new perspectives on North-South and East-West relations, as well as new South-South practices, policies, narratives, and imaginaries beyond the constraints of nation-state relations.
At the latest, the Russian invasion of Ukraine have highlighted the need to intensify decolonial ways of thinking that allow imperialism and colonialisms in the majority to understand the different practices, discourses, politics and forms of violence. These emerging processes and dynamics entail not only new configurations of economic power, capitalism and militarization, but also new perspectives on north-south and east-west relations as well as new south-south practices, politics, narratives and imaginaries (beyond the restrictions of nation-state-relations).

Aid and development are part of these reconfigurations and get visible when when  China is addressing South Asian and African states with “win-win-development” or “South-South-cooperation” that promises “non-interference”,  “aid on an equal footing” or aid without conditionalities. It creates counter-narratives to models of development and aid grounded in Eurocentrism and western-centred understandings of human rights or social progress. How can we rethink these reconstructions of the world through the prism of aid and development? How are aid and development reshaped in these processes? Is aid here confined to a mere instrument of geopolitics that generates already known forms of financial dependency? Or do these transformations give hope for the establishment of new forms of transnational solidarity beyond developmentalist politics and thinking or structures of aid?

Sabelo J. Ndlovu-Gatsheni is Professor and Chair of Epistemologies of the Global South with Emphasis on Africa at the University of Bayreuth in Germany. In addition, Prof Ndlovu-Gatsheni holds several professorships including Professor Extraordinarius in the Department of Leadership and Transformation (DLT) at the University of South Africa (UNISA); Professor Extraordinarius at the Centre for Gender and African Studies at the University of Free State (UFS) in South Africa; Honorary Professor in the School of Education (Education & Development Studies) at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) in South Africa; Visiting Research Fellow at the Johannesburg Institute for Advanced Study (JIAS) at the University of Johannesburg (UJ) in South Africa; and is also a Research Associate of The Ferguson Centre for African and Asian Studies at The Open University in the United Kingdom. He is also founding Head of the Archie Mafeje Research Institute for Applied Social Policy (AMRI) and the founder of the Africa Decolonial Research Network (ADERN), both at the University of South Africa.

 

19.03.2023
DEMOLISHING THE HOUSE? ABOLITIONISM AND AID: AN ABOLITIONIST JUSTICE APPROACH

Abolitionist voices, demands for reparations, and radical post-development perspectives call not only for the abolition of institutions but for the reconstruction of the world on the basis of an anti-racist, anti-capitalist, anti-colonial, and anti-patriarchal understanding of social and transformative justice. These perspectives make visible structures that (re)produce intersectional hierarchies and help to overcome them. Would we still need help if we understood hierarchies and inequalities as systemic injustices? Can we learn anything from abolitionist and restitution-oriented practices, policies, and histories for this? How can we conceptualize aid, or something akin to aid, in a communitarian sense, a sense of mutual aid?

Lata Narayanaswamy is Associate Professor in Politics of Global Development at the University of Leeds, England. Her research interests include the decolonization of development, the nexus of gender and development, and the relationship between knowledge (production) and development. She is also part of the "COST Action: Decolonising Development: Research, Teaching and Practice ", the "Water Security and Sustainable Development Hub" and the "Gender and information ecosystems in climate change adaptation" project.

Anmeldung Decolonizing Aid / Registration Decolonizing Aid

Formularseite
Erhalten Sie mit der Anmeldung Details zum Programmablauf und Teilnahme. / Receive details on the programme and participation with your registration.

Decolonizing Aid

Planetary Solidarity beyond Aid


27. November 2022 bis 19. März 2023

Veranstaltungsreihe/Event series/Seri
Online via zoom

Sonntags/Sundays/Minggu
12:30h Berlin time/19.30h Sulawesi time

Sprachen/Languages/Bahasa
Deutsch/English/Indonesi

Die uns schon bekannten Krisen – die Klimakrise, die Verschärfung des rassifizierten und vergeschlechtlichten kapitalistischen Systems, die Gesundheitskrise, um nur einige zu nennen – spitzen sich zu und verflechten sich zunehmend. Dadurch entstehen neue Dynamiken der Macht und der Gewalt, gepaart mit dem wachsenden Gefühl der Aussichtslosigkeit. Die (Re-)Konstruktion der Welt, sie anders denken und machen, wird zu einer Notwendigkeit. Dabei ist Hilfe ist nach wie vor ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Art und Weise, wie die Welt gedacht und gestaltet wird. Doch die Hilfe ist auch in ihrem kolonialen Erbe eingebunden, in rassistische Strukturen und in einer Marktorientierung und neoliberalen Agenda, die Ungleichheiten und Marginalisierungen (wieder) hervorbringt.

Diese kritischen Perspektiven auf Entwicklung und Hilfe aus postkolonialer und Post-Entwicklungsperspektive werden von feministischen, antikapitalistischen und antirassistischen Stimmen schon lange formuliert. Sie zeigen auf, wie das Hilfesystem selbst durch Institutionen, Konditionalität oder gebundene Hilfe Formen wirtschaftlicher und finanzieller Abhängigkeit verfestigt. Auf der nicht-materiellen Ebene wird der „globale Süden“ als Ort der Krisen und der Bedürftigkeit konstruiert, dessen Menschen über die Krise definiert werden – und nicht als Subjekte ihrer Selbst und ihrer Kontexte.

Kritische Akteur:innen auf der ganzen Welt machen deutlich, dass wir eine „dekoloniale Wende“ in der Entwicklungsforschung und -praxis brauchen, um die Wurzeln der Machtverhältnisse zu entschlüsseln, die rassistische, geschlechtsspezifische, sexualisierte und Klassenhierarchien, die die moderne Welt kennzeichnen, hervorbringen und stabilisieren. Dekolonisierung geht über die theoretische Kritik hinaus und ebnet den Weg zur Verwirklichung alternativer Visionen und Praktiken der Weltgestaltung.

Im Sinne von Audre Lordes Diktum, „Das Werkzeug des Herrn wird niemals das Haus des Herrn niederreißen“, stellt sich die Frage, wie das Haus des Herrn abgeschafft werden kann. Und wenn es abgeschafft werden (soll), müssten wir dann auch die Hilfe abschaffen?
Ausgehend von diesen kritischen Interventionen in Entwicklungsdebatten ist das übergreifende Thema dieser Veranstaltungsreihe die Dekolonisierung von Hilfe und Entwicklung. Wenn wir am Horizont dieser Krisen in eine Zukunft des guten Lebens für alle und alles blicken: wo ist die Hilfe zu verorten? Kann die Hilfe Teil des Wandels hin zu einer planetarischen Solidarität sein, oder steht sie ihm im Weg?

Decolonizing Aid ist eine Diskussionsreihe. Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie mit uns und unseren Gästen im (digitalen) Fishbowl auf Englisch, Indonesisch oder Deutsch mitdiskutieren! Alle Beiträge werden simultan übersetzt. Die Veranstaltungen werden später auf dem medico Youtube Kanal veröffentlicht.

Veranstaltet von medico international, Institut Mosintuwu, Arbeitsbereich Globaler Süden an der Goethe Universität

Programm

20.11.2022 Achtung verschoben auf 27.11.2022
DEVELOPMENT AND AID IN THE MASTER‘S HOUSE: UNRAVELLING THE ARCHITECTURE AND THE IMAGINARIES OF THE MASTER‘S HOUSE

Entwicklung und Hilfe im Haus des Herrn? Kapitalismus, Heteropatriarchat und Rassismus: Über Architektur und Imagination

Die Kapitalismuskrise kann nicht von der Entwicklungs- und Hilfskrise getrennt werden. Ein Kapitalismus, der die Sphären der Arbeit längst verlassen hat und sich in seiner neoliberalen Form in unsere Körper eingeschrieben hat. Wie die medico-Konferenz "beyond aid" (2014) überzeugend dargelegt hat: Hilfe muss auf ein Konzept von Macht, Raum und politischer Ökonomie haben, sonst kann sie bestenfalls das Leid einer gegebenen Situation abfedern, möglichst effizient mit knapper werdenden Ressourcen. Dieses Ersatzhandeln, das Hilfe ist, für das, was eigentlich notwendig ist – nämlich die Transformation hin zu einem guten Leben für alle und alles – wollen wir hinterfragen und dekonstruieren.

Vor dem Hintergrund der Verflechtung der Hilfe mit kapitalistischen und neoliberalen Entwicklungsmodellen wollen wir fragen, wie Hilfe in der Architektur des „Herrenhauses“ funktioniert und wie diese Architektur die Praktiken der Hilfe, ihrer Akteure und Institutionen prägt. Können wir die Hilfe jenseits ihrer Auswirkungen auf die Stabilisierung bestehender Strukturen und Mechanismen von Macht und Ausbeutung denken? Wie können wir Hilfe neu denken, um soziale Gerechtigkeit, Solidarität und Restitution zu verwirklichen?

Sima Luipert arbeitet im regionalen und ländlichen Entwicklungsmanagement in Namibia. Sie ist Aktivistin für Menschenrechte und sozialen Wandel, mit einem Hintergrund in den Bereichen ländliche Planung und Regulierung, Projektleitung und Kommunalentwicklung. Sie ist Direktorin für Entwicklungsplanung im namibischen Regionalrat von Hardap. Außerdem ist sie stellvertretende Leiterin des Technischen Nama Genocide Technical Committee (NTLA) und Vorsitzende des Verwaltungsrates Riruako Centre for Genocide and Memory Studies.

 

11.12.2022
THE MASTER‘S GARDEN: GREEN CAPITALISM AND ITS INTERSECTIONS WITH GREEN (NEO)COLONIALISM

Der Garten des Meisters: Grüner Kapitalismus und seine Überschneidungen mit grünem (Neo-)Kolonialismus

Ein grundlegender Mechanismus der kapitalistischen Produktion ist die Entnahme von Material aus der Natur, um es (durch Arbeit) in handelbare Waren zu verwandeln. Das Versprechen des „grünen Kapitalismus“ besteht darin, Entwicklung, Wachstum und Umweltschutz miteinander in Einklang zu bringen. Politische und wirtschaftliche Strategien wie Kohlenstoffhandel und -ausgleich, Netto-Null und nachhaltiger Konsum erlauben es Staaten und Unternehmen, die Zerstörung und Ausbeutung von Gemeingütern fortzusetzen. Nun aber unter dem grünen Deckmantel angeblicher sozialer Verantwortung und des Umweltschutzes. Doch die Zerstörung der Lebensgrundlagen lokaler und indigener Gemeinschaften im Globalen Süden ist untrennbar mit dem sozial-ökologischen Wandel im Globalen Norden verbunden.

Wir wollen fragen, wie dieser Zusammenhang zwischen Zerstörung und sozial-ökologischem Umbau funktioniert? Wie überschneidet sich der grüne Kapitalismus mit entwicklungspolitischen Diskursen und Praktiken? Wie müssen Hilfe und Entwicklung verändert werden, um Teil einer globalen und gerechten sozial-ökologischen Transformation sowie des Widerstands und der transnationalen Solidarität gegen den grünen Kapitalismus zu sein?

Nnimmo Bassey ist ein nigerianischer Architekt, Umweltschützer, Aktivist, Autor und Dichter. Er  ist Direktor der ökologischen Denkfabrik Health of Mother Earth Foundation (HOMEF) in Nigeria und Mitglied des Steering Commitee von Oilwatch International. Er war Vorsitzender von Friends of the Earth International (2008-2012) und geschäftsführender Direktor von Nigeria‘s Environmental Rights Action (1993-2013). Im Jahr 2010 wurde er mit dem Right Livelihood Award ausgezeichnet. Nnimmo Bassey hat umfassend über die Umweltzerstörung auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent und den grünen Kapitalismus geschrieben und gesprochen.

 

29.01.2023
THE MASTER‘S GOODWILL: NEW STRANDS OF HUMANITARIAN AID - STILL NOT ENOUGH

Sein guter Wille: neue Formen der humanitären Hilfe?

Die Ambivalenzen in der humanitären Hilfe sind von besonderer Schwierigkeit: Einerseits folgen sie dem akuten moralischen Gebot, Leid zu lindern, andererseits sind sie eine Fortsetzung kolonialer Praktiken, die zu einem großen Teil mitverantwortlich sind für die Entstehung von Krisen und eingebettet in die Weltordnung, die diese Katastrophen am Leben erhält. Dadurch entpolitisieren sie die Kontexte des Leidens und die Kämpfe vor Ort. Außerdem stellt sich die Frage, was es bedeutet „feuerwehrartig“ zu helfen, in einer Welt die konstant brennt. Trotz aller Reformen der der humanitären Hilfe, wie z.B. im Rahmen des Humanitären Gipfels 2016, bleiben die Fragen bestehen.

Wenn wir die humanitäre Hilfe von einem gerechtigkeits- und menschenrechtsbasierten Ansatz aus betrachten, der in einem antikapitalistischen und dekolonialen Verständnis der Zukunft verwurzelt ist, stellen sich verschiedene Fragen: Wie kann die humanitäre Hilfe in Frage gestellt und verändert werden, um dieser Zukunft gerecht zu werden? Wie kann man sich die humanitäre Hilfe im Wandel vorstellen? Welche Aspekte müssen wir schützen, welche abschaffen? Angesichts der gar nicht so unwahrscheinlichen Zukunft eines brennenden Planeten: Wird humanitäre Hilfe als Reaktion auf Katastrophen obsolet sein? Kann die humanitäre Hilfe ein Teil der Transformation werden?

Tammam Aloudat ist eine der maßgeblichen Stimmen auf dem Gebiet der Dekolonisierung der globalen Gesundheit, insbesondere im Bereich der humanitären Hilfe. Als Arzt und humanitärer Helfer verfügt er über 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Internationalen Rotkreuz- und Rothalbmondbewegung und bei Ärzte ohne Grenzen (MSF), wo er bei Konflikten, Naturkatastrophen, Vertreibungen und Krankheitsausbrüchen sowohl in Projekten als auch in der Zentrale tätig war. Er hat sich mit Themen beschäftigt, die von medizinischen Standards und der Qualität der Versorgung über humanitäre Ethik und Palliativmedizin bis hin zum Zugang zu Medikamenten reichen. Der Präsident von MSF Niederlande und frühere geschäftsführende Direktor des Global Health Center des Genfer Graduierteninstituts ist auch Mitbegründer der Action to Decolonise Global Health (ActDGH).

26.02.2023
SMASHING WINDOWS? RETHINKING AID BEYOND THE NORTH-SOUTH AXIS

Fenster einschlagen? Hilfe jenseits der Nord-Süd-Achse überdenken

Die Nord-Süd-Achse ist durch ungleiche Macht- und Wissensbeziehungen und Hegemonie gekennzeichnet, die auf einer Geschichte des extraktiven kolonialen Kapitalismus beruhen, die bis heute nachwirkt. Die Nord-Süd-Beziehungen als sozial-räumliche Beziehungen sind jedoch weder so geografisch festgelegt noch so unveränderlich, wie der Begriff vermuten lässt. Wir erleben neue „aufsteigende Mächte“, die an wirtschaftlicher Macht gewinnen, Formen der Transregionalisierung sowie regionale Hegemonieverschiebungen durch Kriege und Konflikte, z. B. wenn die Türkei, Russland, Saudi-Arabien und der Iran durch ihre Verstrickungen in den lang anhaltenden Konflikten in Syrien, Libyen und Jemen neue hegemoniale Positionen gewinnen. Spätestens die russische Invasion in der Ukraine hat die Notwendigkeit unterstrichen, dekoloniale Denkweisen zu stärken, die es ermöglichen, die unterschiedlichen Diskurse und Formen der Gewalt zu verstehen. Diese Prozesse und Dynamiken bringen nicht nur neue Konfigurationen wirtschaftlicher Macht, Kapitalismus und Militarisierung mit sich, sondern auch neue Perspektiven auf die Nord-Süd- und Ost-West-Beziehungen sowie neue Süd-Süd-Praktiken, -Politiken, -Narrative und -Vorstellungen jenseits der Beschränkungen der nationalstaatlichen Beziehungen.

Hilfe und Entwicklung sind Teil dieser Neukonfigurationen und werden sichtbar, wenn China sich an südasiatische und afrikanische Staaten mit „Win-Win-Entwicklung“ oder „Süd-Süd-Kooperationen“ wendet, die „Nichteinmischung“, „Hilfe auf gleicher Augenhöhe“ oder Hilfe ohne Konditionalitäten versprechen. Sie schaffen Gegenentwürfe zu Entwicklungs- und Hilfsmodellen, die auf Eurozentrismus und westlich geprägten Auffassungen von Menschenrechten oder sozialem Fortschritt beruhen. Wie können wir diese Rekonstruktionen der Welt durch das Prisma der Hilfe und Entwicklung denken? Wie werden Hilfe und Entwicklung in diesen Prozessen umgestaltet? Ist Hilfe hier auf ein bloßes Instrument der Geopolitik beschränkt, das bereits bekannte Formen der finanziellen Abhängigkeit erzeugt? Oder geben diese Veränderungen Hoffnung auf die Etablierung neuer Formen transnationaler Solidarität jenseits von entwicklungspolitischem Denken und Strukturen der Hilfe?

Sabelo J. Ndlovu-Gatsheni ist Professor für Epistemologien des globalen Südens mit Schwerpunkt Afrika an der Universität Bayreuth in Deutschland. Darüber hinaus hat Prof. Ndlovu-Gatsheni weitere Lehrstühle inne, darunter Professor Extraordinarius am Department of Leadership and Transformation (DLT) an der University of South Africa (UNISA), Professor Extraordinarius am Centre for Gender and African Studies an der University of Free State (UFS) in Südafrika, Honorarprofessor an der School of Education (Education & Development Studies) an der University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) in Südafrika und Visiting Research Fellow am Johannesburg Institute for Advanced Study (JIAS) an der University of Johannesburg (UJ) in Südafrika. Außerdem ist er Research Associate des Ferguson Centre for African and Asian Studies an der Open University im Vereinigten Königreich. Er ist Gründungsleiter des Archie Mafeje Research Institute for Applied Social Policy (AMRI) und Gründer des Africa Decolonial Research Network (ADERN), beide an der University of South Africa.
 

19.03.2023
DEMOLISHING THE HOUSE? ABOLITIONISM AND AID: AN ABOLITIONIST JUSTICE APPROACH

Das Haus abreißen? Abolitionismus und Hilfe: der Horizont einer abolutionistischen Gerechtigkeit

Abolitionistische Stimmen, Forderungen nach Reparation und radikale Post-Development-Perspektiven fordern nicht nur die Abschaffung von Institutionen, sondern die Rekonstruktion der Welt auf der Grundlage eines antirassistischen, antikapitalistischen, antikolonialen und antipatriarchalen Verständnisses von sozialer und transformativer Gerechtigkeit. Diese Perspektiven machen Strukturen sichtbar, die intersektionale Hierarchien (re)produzieren und helfen, sie zu überwinden. Würden wir noch Hilfe brauchen, wenn wir Hierarchien und Ungleichheiten als systemische Ungerechtigkeiten verstehen? Können wir hierfür etwas von abolitionistischen und auf Wiedergutmachung ausgerichteten Praktiken, Politiken und Historien lernen? Wie können wir Hilfe oder etwas Ähnliches wie Hilfe in einem kommunitären Sinn, einem Sinn der gegenseitigen Hilfe, konzeptualisieren?

Dr. Lata Narayanaswamy ist außerordentliche Professorin in „Politics of Global Development“ an der University of Leeds, England. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Dekolonialisierung von Entwicklung, die Verbindung von Geschlecht und Entwicklung und das Verhältnis von Wissen(sproduktion) und Entwicklung. Sie ist außerdem Teil der „COST Action: Decolonising Development: Research, Teaching and Practice “, dem „Water Security and Sustainable Development Hub” und dem “Gender and information ecosystems in climate change adaptation”-Projekt.

Anmeldung Decolonizing Aid / Registration Decolonizing Aid

Formularseite
Erhalten Sie mit der Anmeldung Details zum Programmablauf und Teilnahme. / Receive details on the programme and participation with your registration.